Beer Review #2 Widmer Brother’s Milk Stout

widmer milk stout

Milk and Beer: Not a normal combination comes to mind outside of a drunk cow or a mixologist concoction that is $12 at your local speakeasy.  You know, the drink your friend was raving about on instagram, with the description that is not only esoteric but also downright pretentious.  Thankfully, Widmer Brother’s Milk stout is neither of these.

According to Wikipedia:

“Milk stout (also called sweet stout or cream stout) is a stout containing lactose, a sugar derived from milk. Because lactose is unfermentable by beer yeast, it adds sweetness, body, and calories to the finished beer. Milk stout was claimed to be nutritious, and was given to nursing mothers, along with other stouts, such as Guinness.  The classic surviving example of milk stout is Mackeson’s, for which the original brewers claimed that “each pint contains the energising carbohydrates of 10 ounces of pure dairy milk“.

Jane's beer store sign

I did not know that something so delicious could also be nutritious with the lactose added in.  This combination isn’t exactly something I would go for without a bit of guidance but the fine folks at Jane’s Beer Store made a great recommendation with this.

It has a color similar to Guinness and that was also another initial draw in my pursuit of something new.  If I want to go with a dark beer and there is nothing interesting on the beer menu, I pull for a Guinness as a standard of consistency and quality.  This drink would top Guinness in my beer-to-beer comparison not only on taste but also because I don’t feel like I just ate a sandwich after one beer.  Widmers has created a stout that is creamy in taste with mocha espresso, molasses and some hops on the finish.  I will touch on that later.

starbucks-willy-wonka-meme

My underlying enjoyment of this beer stems from the fact that I hate the taste of coffee but love the frappachinos,  Carmel Macchiatos, and other overpriced drinks from Tim Hortons or Starbucks.  This was a more expensive beer ($4 without tax) but I get the taste I love without the caffeine that makes me a trainwreck after I drink half the glass.

In keeping with my love of strong beers, this has an ABV of 7% compared to Guinness with a whimper of 4%.  I really am trying my hardest to make it though these without sounding snobbish but I am on my 4th version of the next paragraph and there is not a better way to describe it:

The finish on it had a touch of hoppy acidity to it but dissipated quickly.  It might be fair to blame the alcohol for this but it cleared quicker than normal high proof beers I’ve drunk.  Either way, it was something that did not ruin my experience with the taste and I mention it as a side note.

In summation, I find this beer to be a good brunch beer for the weekend.  It makes me smile with every sip and think on summer days.  If you enjoy a Guinness for it’s boldness but don’t want to feel full afterwards, I would highly suggest this beer to you.

One response to “Beer Review #2 Widmer Brother’s Milk Stout

  1. Pingback: Beer Review #4 Widmer Brothers O’Ryely Ipa·

Leave a Reply

